Our banner was made in the academic year 1987-1988. While designing the banner, there was only one qualification: It could not be confused with another banner! This is done by using different aspects related to Pharmaciae Sacrum in the banner.

First of all, P.S. is located in Groningen. This can be seen as follows: the city of Groningen has an official coat of arms since 1819. This consists of a golden shield with in the middle a black eagle with its wings and feet spread out wide. On the eagle’s chest is a silver shield with a green diagonal stripe. You can see this coat of arms on our banner, but we have replaced one head of the two-headed eagle with an aesculaap (referring to the god of medicine) as a symbol of pharmacy. The coat of arms of Pharmaciae Sacrum is also used in our banner, in textual form to be precise. And our official name: Groningse Farmaceutische Studenten Vereniging “Pharmaciae Sacrum” can also be found on our banner.

You can see four different colours on our banner. Firstly, the white shield with a green diagonal stripe. White represents purity. Green represents water and the sea. White and green are the colours of Groningen. Furthermore, the banner has a deep blue colour. Blue represents tranquility, peace, heaven and the sky. The eagle and letters are made with a golden thread and cord. Yellow/gold represents richness, abundance and mineral resources. Yellow and blue are the colours of Pharmaciae Sacrum.

In the academic year 1987-1988 a poem was made by then chairman of Pharmaciae Sacrum, Jacques van Rossum:

Oh, gij artistiek kunstwerk
Gij staat stevig, gij staat sterk
Gij zijt van goud geweven
Hoog en lang zult gij voortleven

The banner bearers of G.F.S.V. "Pharmaciae Sacrum":

1987-1988   Dick Verbrugge
1988-1990   Ard van der Meij
1990-1992   Tjibbe Bottema
1992-1994   Huub Pollman
1994-1996   Alexander Nap
1996-1997   Sjoerd Weikamp
1997-1998   Rutger de Vries
1998-1999   Gijs Hubben
1999-2000   André Rijkeboer
2000-2001   Jouk Snoek
2001-2002   Matthijs van Luin
2002-2003   Pieter Burgert
2003-2004   Peter Brummelhuis
2004-2005   Volkert de Bot
2005-2006   Arjen Wolterink
2006-2007   Jelte Meulenaar
2007-2008   Jelmer Faber
2008-2009   Bart Poolman
2009-2010   Kristian Pool
2010-2011   Piter Oosterhof
2011-2012   Joost Masselink
2012-2013   Sven de Krou
2013-2014   Rogier Hilbers
2014-2015   Rob van de Velde
2015-2016   Ivo Schueler
2016-2017   Tristan Snoei
2017-2018   Richard Lantink
2018-2019   Marc Joosten
2019-2020   Luke van der Koog
2020-2021   Ruud Stapel
2021-2022   Bryan Yilmaz
2022-2023   Cees Boone
2023-2024   Floris Hofman